ECampus Awards Program Celebrates Commitment of Students, Faculty and Staff

On Thursday, December 1, EKU Online hosted the second-annual eCampus Awards Program (eCAPS) to recognize excellence in student support, teaching and course design.

Founded 10 years ago as an alternative delivery method for nontraditional students interested in enrolling in EKU College of Justice and Safety programs, EKU Online has grown to include more than 30 degree options spanning four colleges. As of fall 2016, more than 3,000 students are now enrolled with EKU Online.

During the ceremony, students, staff and faculty were recognized in 13 award categories honoring areas from course design to student performance. The ceremony culminated with the presentation of the Outstanding Student Awards.

ECampus Awards Program 2016 Student Winners

The Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award was presented to Lisa Brooke Kaelin, a double major in psychology and homeland security from Louisville, Kentucky. Kaelin originally attended the University of Louisville several years ago. She thanked EKU for creating a path for working adults and mothers to pursue their dreams.

Brittany Yates, a doctorate of nursing practice (DNP) student from Denver, Colorado was named Outstanding Graduate Student but was unable to attend.

ECampus Awards Program 2016 Staff Winners

Faculty and staff award winners were:

Advocate for Student Success – Undergraduate Programs: Kerstin Peterson, assistant online coordinator, EKU Online Paralegal and Political Science programs

Advocate for Student Success – Graduate Programs: Amy Eades, assistant online coordinator, EKU Online Justice, Policy and Leadership program

Advocate for Student Success – Faculty Member: Dr. Scott Rockwell, fire science instructor

Essence of e-Campus Award: Dr.Janna Vice, Senior Vice President for Academics and Provost

Excellence in Online Teaching – Undergraduate Programs: Donnie Grayson, English instructor

Excellence in Online Teaching – Graduate Programs: LeAnn Beaty, MPA director and associate professor

Excellence in Instructional Design: Mary Ann Nestmann, instructional designer

Excellence in Course Design: Margaret Zoellers, nursing instructor and Chris Daniel, instructional designer

Highest Start Rate – Undergraduate Programs: Amanda Ballou, assistant online coordinator, EKU Online RN-BSN program

Highest Start Rate – Graduate Programs: Halie Sissle, assistant online coordinator, EKU Online Graduate Nursing programs

Highest Retention Rate – Undergraduate Programs: Brenna Holmes, assistant online coordinator, EKU Online EMC and Music programs

Highest Retention Rate – Graduate Programs: Dr. Dana Howell, OTD coordinator and professor

Outstanding Multimedia Project: Catherine Beechie, adult education instructor

Published on December 02, 2016